James Piper announced as winner of 35 Under 35 Award

35 Under 35 is an awards programme, organised by letsrecycle.com in partnership with Grundon.

35 under 35 logoThe awards identify the ‘young guns’ in the sector who are striving for professional excellence, promoting industry innovation and giving back to their company, local authority or community. James Piper, managing director of Ecosurety, was announced as one of the winners of the 35 Under 35 awards programme.

Fantastic recognition

Speaking of the achievement, James said “In recent years we’ve made huge strides as a company towards our goal of helping companies make meaningful and tangible impacts on UK recycling through their producer responsibility compliance obligations. This award is fantastic recognition and it goes without saying that I’m extremely proud of our fantastic team who have helped to make it happen.”

Lorraine Milburn, Head of Human Resources at Grundon, who was one of the judges, said: “Grundon was delighted to play its part in this inaugural event and we were very excited to see the calibre of all those who entered. The judging was extremely tough but all are extremely worthy winners.

“It is reassuring to know that the future of our industry has such a wealth of up-and-coming talent which will stand us in good stead during the challenging times ahead. We hope these awards will develop and go on to become a real benchmark for future excellence and something that younger professionals will strive towards during their careers.”

The full list of 35 Under 35 winners are as follows:

Dottie Allan, Green Rewards
Joe Allen, First Mile
James Baughan, Oxford City Council
Laura Baughan, Oxford City Council
Till Boegelsack, EEW Energy
Eilidh Brunton, Vegware
Alfred Charles, Veolia
Hannah Dick, Anthesis UK Ltd
Alex Dowell, Biffa
Sam Fairservice, Bywaters
Mel Gauci & Andy Plummer, I-Tel Supplies
Celine Grant, Re-Gen Waste
Ben Griffiths, Foresight Group
Mark Hearsey, Quick Consign
Victoria Hutchin, WYG
Andrew Jenkins, Buckinghamshire County Council
Craig Leonard, Biffa
Ryan Marshall, intu Chapelfield
Vicky Martin, SWRnewstar
Dr Jonathan Mitchell, Nextek ltd
William Moloney, Keltbray Environmental
Ethan O’Brien, Cory Riverside Energy
Sarah Ottaway, SUEZ
Harriet Parke, Eunomia Research & Consulting Ltd
James Piper, Ecosurety
Ramy Salemdeeb, Ricardo Energy & Environment
Anthony Sharkey, Recycling Lives
Lizzie Shepherd, North Hertfordshire District Council
Matt Stoneman, Wastecare
Chris Taylor, Clarity Environmental
Emma Tilbrook, Eunomia Research & Consulting Ltd
Connie Turner, Biffa
Edward van Reenen, Bywaters
Emma West, Cumbria County Council
Rachel Williams, Biffa

The next deadline for 35 Under 35 entries is 10 April 2019. For further information visit www.35-under-35.com

Ben Luger

Marketing projects specialist

Ben joined the team at the beginning of 2015 and helps drive marketing communications and projects for Ecosurety, including project managing the launch of the Ecosurety Exploration Fund and website content development.

Written by Ben Luger Published 14/05/2018 Topics Ecosurety

Useful links

Ecosurety appoints new Chair of the board

Senior board executive and entrepreneur, Adam Freeman, joins Ecosurety as Chair of the board of Directors.


Ecosurety divests from WEEE and Batteries compliance

Ecosurety sold its UK WEEE and Batteries Compliance Schemes on 1 November to Reconomy Group, with Valpak operating the schemes for 2024 and beyond.


Ecosurety Policy Manager Louisa Goodfellow shortlisted for Rising Star award

We are delighted to announce that Louisa Goodfellow, Policy Manager at Ecosurety, has been shortlisted for the ‘Rising Star’ award at the UK Packaging Awards 2023. 


Get in touch